Birds of the World

Australasian Birds

All of the species on this page can be found in Australasia and are arranged taxonomically in their respective families.

The taxonomic order used here for the non-passerine birds follows that proposed in HBW & Birdlife International's Illustrated Checklist of the Birds of the World vol.1 (del Hoyo & Collar, 2014) so may differ from the official list used by the Royal Australian Ornithologist's Union. Apart from a major restructuring of the order of the families, other major changes in the new taxonomy of the non-passerines compared to that in the print version of HBW (volumes 1-7) include the lumping and spliting of several families. For example, in the new classification, gulls, terns and skimmers are all classed under the family heading of Laridae. Splitting events at the family level don't affect quite so many species in the new taxonomy with most new families being either monotypic or containing just a handful of species (eg. Magpie Goose, long considered to be an evolutionary bridge between the Screamers and ducks, has now been split from the Anatidae to form its own monotypic family). Since the passerine volume of the new checklist has not yet been published, the passerine families follow the taxonomy laid out in volumes 8-16 of HBW (del Hoyo et al., Lynx Edicions 2003-2011).














New Zealand Storm-petrel
Fregetta maoriana

White-faced Storm-petrel
Pelagodroma marina




















































Notiomystis cincta